March 2014 races

March 2014 was a busy month of races with almost one per weekend, but not quite. It started on March the first with the Hot Chocolate Run, put on by Try Events, a 10.4K race around Stanley Park, Vancouver, which I completed in 1:16:44.8 and came 305th out of 359 participants. There were no age divisions, but there were mugs of lovely hot chocolate on offer at the end of the race. The event earned race-finishers not only a unique medal but also a souvenir ceramic mug to take home. I am not aware of any particular charities having been linked to this race and could not find any mention of them on line.

March the 15th was the date of the St. Patrick’s Day 5K, a wildly popular race with many people in costume, run mostly on an undulating road that cars ordinarily use to circumnavigate the park, rather than on the seawall. I ended up 1045th out of 1715 runners, had a chip time of 34:26 with a pace of 6:54 (a personal best), was 570th out of 1088 female runners and 33rd out of 70 female runners in my 5-year age category. I also managed the one mile distance in 10:28. All net proceeds raised from the St. Patrick’s Day 5k were donated to the Canadian Diabetes Association. The food was quite good, but apparently a lot of people were there for the post-race beer. Rather too early in the day for alcohol for me though!

2014-03-15-5k

On the 23rd of March I was back at Stanley Park for the third time, this time to run the seawall in the opposite direction to what I had run in races previously. It was the Modo Spring Run-off 8K race, a Canada Running Series Event, where I came 637th out of 771 runners, had a chip time of 57:58 and a pace of 7:15. Among female runners, I was 314th out of 418 and among females in my five-year age group I was 21st out of 35. The charity that benefited from this race was Take a Hike Foundation, a full-time alternative education program that engages at-risk youth through a unique combination of adventure-based learning, academics, therapy, and community involvement. It was a lovely spring day, perfect for running and the after race snacks were pretty good!

Jericho Park in Point Grey offered a nice change of scenery for the UBC Run for Rural Medicine on Saturday 29 March 2014, for a distance of 10K. Luckily for us, the rain stopped just before we started the count-down at the starting line, though there were plenty of puddles on the path, which made the mostly flat route a bit of an obstacle course. I completed the run in 1:08:17 – 8 minutes faster than the time of the 10K race I completed in Stanley Park 4 weeks ago! There were only about 5 of us non-UBC students there, i.e. over the age of, I am guessing, 25, but I was not last – a young male med student passed the finishing line after me! All proceeds for the run will go to Hope Air, a charity that provides free flights to financially-disadvantaged Canadians from rural communities who need to travel for their healthcare.

Now no races until the Vancouver Sun Run on 27 April giving me 26 days of training to look forward to!

Leave a Reply

