Running

Stanley Park 10K race 20130720-2
My new hobby is running. I took a 10-week Learn to run class at the Running Room starting in April 2013 and have since then run in two 5K races – the Longest Day on 14 June 2013 at UBC, which I did in 39:06.32 minutes, and Run Canada Day on 1 July 2013 in Pacific Spirit Park, UBC, in 38:28.04 – and one 10K race – Summerfast around Stanley Park on 20 July 2013 (the above photo, which shows me crossing the finish line, was taken by R. R. Horne), in 1:18:18, keeping a constant pace of about 7.5 minutes per kilometre. It gets me out and active on a regular basis and gives me goals to strive for.

I have three more races ahead of me at the moment, an 8.5K race on Denman Island on 1 September, a 10K race at Jericho Beach on 8 September and a 10K race in Gastown on 14 September.

Leave a Reply

